§ 143B-434.1. The North Carolina Travel and Tourism Board – creation, duties, membership.

(a) There is created within the Department of Commerce the North Carolina Travel and Tourism Board. The Secretary of Commerce and the Director of the Division of Tourism, Film, and Sports Development will work with the Board to fulfill the duties and requirements set forth in this section, and to promote the sound development of the travel and tourism industry in North Carolina.

- (b) The function and duties of the Board shall be:
 - (1) To advise the Secretary of Commerce in the formulation of policy and priorities for the promotion and development of travel and tourism in the State.
 - (2) To advise the Secretary of Commerce in the development of a budget for the Division of Tourism, Film, and Sports Development.
 - (3) To recommend programs to the Secretary of Commerce that will promote the State as a travel and tourism destination and that will develop travel and tourism opportunities throughout the State.
 - (4) To advise the Secretary of Commerce every three months as to the effectiveness of agencies with which the Department has contracted for advertising and regarding the selection of an advertising agency that will assist the Department in the promotion of the State as a travel and tourism destination.
 - (5) To name a three-member subcommittee, with one member from each of the eastern, central, and western regions of the State, to make recommendations to the Secretary of Commerce regarding any revisions in the matching funds tourism grants program, project applications, and criteria for projects that qualify for participation in the program.
 - (6) To advise the Secretary of Commerce from time to time as to the effectiveness of the overall operations of the Division of Tourism, Film, and Sports Development.
 - (7) To promote the exchange of ideas and information on travel and tourism between State and local governmental agencies, and private organizations and individuals.
 - (8) To advise the Secretary of Commerce upon any matter that the Secretary, Governor, or Director of the Division of Tourism, Film, and Sports Development may refer to it.
- (c) The Board shall consist of 29 members as follows:
 - (1) The Secretary of Commerce, who shall not be a voting member.
 - (2) The Director of the Division of Tourism, Film, and Sports Development, who shall not be a voting member.
 - (3) Two members designated by the Board of Directors of the North Carolina Restaurant and Lodging Association, representing the lodging sector.
 - (4) Two members designated by the Board of Directors of the North Carolina Restaurant and Lodging Association, representing the restaurant sector.
 - (5) Three Directors of Convention and Visitor Bureaus designated by the Board of Directors of the North Carolina Association of Convention and Visitor Bureaus.
 - (6) The Chairperson of the Travel and Tourism Coalition or the Chairperson's designee.
 - (7) The President of the North Carolina Travel Industry Association.

- (8) A member designated by the Board of Directors of the North Carolina Travel Industry Association.
- (9) The President of the North Carolina Chamber.
- (10) One member designated by the North Carolina Petroleum Marketers Association.
- (11) One person associated with tourism attractions in North Carolina, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives. One person who is not a member of the General Assembly, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives.
- (12) One person associated with the tourism-related transportation industry, appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate. One person who is not a member of the General Assembly, appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate.
- (13) Four public members each interested in matters relating to travel and tourism, two appointed by the Governor (one from a rural area and one from an urban area), one appointed by the Speaker of the House, and one appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate.
- (14) One member associated with the major cultural resources and activities of the State in North Carolina, appointed by the Governor.
- (15) Two members of the House of Representatives, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives.
- (16) Two members of the Senate, appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate.
- (17) Two members designated by the Board of Directors of North Carolina Watermen United who represent the charter boat/headboat industry.

(d) The members of the Board shall serve the following terms: the Secretary of Commerce, the Director of the Division of Tourism, Film, and Sports Development, the Chairperson of the Travel and Tourism Coalition, the President of the North Carolina Travel Industry Association, and the President of the North Carolina Chamber shall serve on the Board while they hold their respective offices. Each member of the Board appointed by the Governor shall serve during his or her term of office. The members of the Board appointed by the General Assembly shall serve two-year terms beginning on January 1 of odd-numbered years and ending on December 31 of the following year. The first such term shall begin on January 1, 1991, or as soon thereafter as the member is appointed to the Board, and end on December 31, 1992. All other members of the Board shall serve a term which consists of the portion of calendar year 1991 that remains following their appointment or designation and, thereafter, two-year terms which shall begin on January 1 of an even-numbered year and end on December 31, 1992, and end on December 31, 1994.

(e) No member of the Board, except a member serving by virtue of his or her office, shall serve during more than five consecutive calendar years, except that a member shall continue to serve until his or her successor is appointed.

(f) Appointments to fill vacancies in the membership of the Board that occur due to resignation, dismissal, death, or disability of a member shall be for the balance of the unexpired term and shall be made by the same appointing authority that made the initial appointment.

(g) Board members who are employees of the State shall receive travel allowances at the rate set forth in G.S. 138-6. Board members who are legislators shall be reimbursed for travel and subsistence in accordance with G.S. 120-3.1. All other Board members, except those serving pursuant to subdivisions (3) through (10) of subsection (c) of this section, shall receive

per diem, subsistence, and travel expenses at the rate set forth in G.S. 138-5. Board members serving pursuant to subdivisions (3) through (10) of subsection (c) of this section shall not receive per diem, subsistence, or travel expenses. The expenses set forth in this section shall be paid by the Division of Tourism, Film, and Sports Development of the Department of Commerce.

(h) At its first meeting in 1991, the Board shall elect one of its voting members to serve as Chairperson during calendar year 1991. At its last regularly scheduled meeting in 1991, and at its last regularly scheduled meeting in each year thereafter, the Board shall elect one of its voting members to serve as Chairperson for the coming calendar year. No person shall serve as Chairperson during more than three consecutive calendar years. The Chairperson shall continue to serve until his or her successor is elected.

(i) A majority of the current voting membership shall constitute a quorum.

(j) The Secretary of Commerce shall provide clerical and other services as required by the Board. (1991, c. 406, s. 1; 1991 (Reg. Sess., 1992), c. 959, s. 54; 1997-495 s. 89(a); 2000-140, s. 79(a); 2007-67, s. 1; 2007-484, ss. 32(a), (b); 2009-550, s. 7; 2009-570, s. 8(f), (g).)